//
you're reading...
A pictures says a 1000 words... Guess where, Africa, Culture, Projects, South America, Travel

I saw this and thought… wow

I recently booked my ticket to Salvador, Bahia! I’m so excited to get on with my Tabom Afro-Brazilian research and be in town for carnival!

As I stood at the Avianca airport ticket desk waiting for my São Paulo- Salvador- Rio, tickets to be printed my eyes caught the front cover of their latest magazine. To see an Afro-Brazilian woman on the cover of a magazine is unusual (at least it’s not so common from where I stand), so you can imagine my interest to want to know who this beautiful woman is!

Gloria Maria. A journalist!

Please check out this debate ´Black (negro) or African descendant (afrodescendente)? What’s in a term? Three well-known Brazilians weigh in on which term they prefer to define themselves` (http://www.blackwomenofbrazil.com/2012/11/black-negro-or-african-descendant.html#comment-form)

20121222-234231.jpg

Please tell me, are there any other Black/Afro-Brazilian women highlighted in the media in Brazil?

About @makingkai

Life is a bit more colourful since I discovered blogging! thanks for following my journey! #MySohoTimes #LetsDoLunch #TravelMakingKai #TheEFedStudent

Discussion

5 thoughts on “I saw this and thought… wow

  1. Adriana Bombom, Sharon Menezes, Thais Araújo, Solange Couto, Benedita da Silva, Zezé Mota, Ruth de Souza, Valéria Valenssa, Negra Li. Is that some famous black women in Brazil 😀

    Posted by Douglas | December 27, 2012, 8:17 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Carnival da Bahia… Ouro Negro! « Travel Making Kai - February 16, 2013

  2. Pingback: Beyond Brazil… A year on with an unmissable opportunity! | the Educationally Frustrated student - January 12, 2014

  3. Pingback: Beyond Your World – Beyond Brazil! | Travel Making Kai :) - January 13, 2014

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,922 other followers

Follow Travel Making Kai :) on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 37,384 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,922 other followers

